Matthew Hawkins


 

I am an artist and illustrator working in London and Paris.
My studio is situated in East London and I am currently a senior lecturer at Camberwell College of Arts. A pdf folio
and hardcopy are available on request. If you would like
any further information do not hesitate to contact me.

 

 

Since graduating from the Royal College of Art in 2001 I have developed a versatile method of working which incor-porates a broad spectrum of influences and disciplines, all of which are consolidated by my passion for drawing. This diverse approach ensures that my work retains the ability
to surprise and engage whilst responding appropriately and succinctly to a wide range of clients in the music, fashion and design industries.

I create enchanting and seductive images which reach out from the page and beckon you deeper and deeper into my imaginary world. Pirates, mysterious creatures, travelers and exotic women inhabit luscious landscapes constructed
from an unexpected combination of studies, doodles and sketches. The results are lucid, vibrant, intriguing and confrontational.

SELECTED PUBLICATIONS:

Creative Review Illustration Annual, 2010

World Illustration Index #1, 2010

It’s Nice That, Issue #2, 2009

Grafik Magazine, Issue 174, 2009

Custom Kicks, Laurence King, 2008

Varoom Magazine, Issue 01, 2006

Creative Review, February, 2006

Dazed & Confused, Playing it Straight, 2006

This is a Magazine, Everything will be ok, 2006.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

